top of page

ONE STOP ATHLETIC THERAPY

Elevating Human Performance

AT 1.jpg
Post: Welcome
Search

Women in Sports!

Updated: Feb 28, 2021


Many people ask me what it's like to be a woman in sports? What is it like to be a female Athletic Therapist with a male dominated sports team?


I actually find these questions very difficult and it's not because I don't label myself. I don't allow myself to be put into a bracket because of my gender.


I find that if I can gain respect from coaches, management, athletes, other health care professionals and equipment managers than my gender won't matter. Is that to say that I haven't been discriminated against because of my gender, absolutely not. I just don't let it define who I am or change my philosophy - which is focusing on human performance as an Athletic Therapist, but I also won't tolerate being labelled and being put in a box because it makes others comfortable. Your uncomfort is your problem not mine.


I am glad that women have spoken up in sports about equal pay, opportunities for women in a male dominant environment, and even holding people accountable for what they do and not allowing people to gloss over it because they have power. It's not an easy situation to be in while trying to maintain composure, speaking your truth and inspiring change when you're confronted with peoples opinions and their unreadiness to hear.


Michelle Obama said it the best: "If you don't get out there and define yourself, you'll be quickly and inaccurately defined by others". As much as we don't want to hear the noise around us sometimes we need to listen and speak up for ourselves, but most importantly speak up for each other.


My name is Janine Kondas, I am a Certified Athletic Therapist for the Victoria Grizzlies Junior A Hockey Team and I am a professional Woman in Sports!








67 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page